Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Pulque/Octli brew

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2012, 08:00 PM   #1
julioohara
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default Pulque/Octli brew

Hi everyone at Homebrew talk, I'm new to this chat forum and I am eager to learn as much as possible I have read in part of aforum posted here about an aztec drink called pulque. The recipe came out a sometime ago in a issue of BYO, and curiosity got the best of me since I remember trying this drink a long time ago and I liked it very much. The recipe calls for: 8lbs of Agave syrup, and Wyeast 1056 (American Ale) yeast for a 5 gallon batch, but I narrowed it down for a 2 gallon. However because I only had a Wyeast Belgium Abbey II strain I used that instead hoping of achieveing a partially sour brew like the traditional pulque. It's been 2 days in the incubator @ 69F, and I have not seen a Krausen... My question is, is a krausen necessary to demonstrate healthy yeast activity, or can a fermentation still take place in its absence? I have no airlock since it's a small fermentor that I got from Mr. Beer, so what would all of you suggest?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
JordanC
Recipes 

There will not be any krausen from the agave.

I have never used an ale yeast to make pulque, only wine yeasts, and there has never been a strong sign of fermentation. All I notice is a small fizzle of bubbles on the surface edges (and I have an airlock that goes tic tic). The fermentation is not aggressive and it takes about two months before my gravity drops from 1.078 to 1.010

If I were you I would be patient and check the gravity after a few weeks. I use wine yeast and let mine sit for months and months.

Old 08-27-2012, 04:53 PM   #3
julioohara
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts