Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Oatmeal Sout yeast (dry or liquid)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2010, 02:00 AM   #1
vegas20s
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default Oatmeal Sout yeast (dry or liquid)

I'm still new to home brew but for my next batch I'm going to make an oatmeal stout mini mash. I'm going to try roasting the oats and some of the malts as well. I've used the s-o4 and really liked the results. But I'm thinking of upgrading to WLP004 Irish Ale yeast, since I'm really putting some extra effort into this batch? Now I've searched a bit on the forums and found alot of talk on the dry verses liquid, but....

1. Is dealing with the starter (which seems to be necessary for liquid yeast) and added cost of both yeast and a starter kit really worth the benefits?

2. Is there any difference besides the taste and would it be more than a subtle difference?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2010, 02:53 AM   #2
avidhomebrewer
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts

1. I think liquid yeast is a much better yeast, for flavor and purity. Yeah, you have to make a starter, usually, but that will only make sure the batch starts quickly.

2. Purity and strain availability are 2 other main factors to use liquid yeast. There are many more options, strain-wise, with liquid. But, dry yeast does have more strains and the purity is getting better. My vote is liquid.

As to your question, the Irish Ale you suggest would fit the bill nicely.

Old 08-07-2010, 03:03 AM   #3
Dynachrome
Recipes 

Liked 59 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 469

Two things to consider for liquid.

1. Liquid - shorter shelf life/ needs cold storage - dry isnt as fragile.

2. Liquid is more costly.

My $.02

Old 08-07-2010, 03:12 AM   #4
ChshreCat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes