Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Not loving S-04...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2012, 11:32 AM   #31
Hammy71
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 393 Times on 308 Posts
Likes Given: 599

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geiger420 View Post
Thank YOU!!!!!! I have been brewing for like 3 years now and I started using the dry yeast.. I will give it that it ferments very quickly but I couldn't put my finger on this sour tangy taste I was getting in my beers.... I just brewed a Chocolate Milk Stout and it has that sour tangy taste to it and I couldn't figure it out... does this settle with time??
In my experience no. It may become a little bit obnoxius...but I could still taste it in my Irish Red nine months later. I split a 10 gallon batch of this brew with a friend. He absolutely loved the beer and the 04 twang. So, I don't want to come across that I'm bashing the people that love this yeast. It just ain't for me.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-27-2012, 01:38 PM   #32
Geiger420
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

F$#@ !!!!

Old 10-27-2012, 07:28 PM   #33
Cincy17
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 5

I just kegged a pumpkin ale that was fermented with s-04 and it came out fantastic. I secondaried it for about 2-3 weeks since there was pumpkin in it, and it cleared completely and made a very compact cake in the secondary. No twang or off favors that I can find. I fermented around 62 degrees on average using a water bath so there were even temp swings as much as 5 degrees at times.

Old 10-28-2012, 12:34 AM   #34
andycr
Recipes 

Liked 40 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammy71 View Post