Not carbonating properly

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cathlabrob

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to brewing and I brewed a 6 gallon batch of Nut Brown Ale. My local brew store recommended priming my 16 oz bottles with 5 tablets of priming sugar tablets. After two weeks, i opened two bottles. The beer tasted good but was still flat. I know the bottle seals were good and I was able to hear very little gas escape with minimal head when opening and pouring. Does anyone have any advice for me to fix the problem or do you think I have to waste the entire batch? Any help is appreciated. [email protected]

;)
Rob

Standard minimum time is three weeks at 70F when bottle carbonating/conditioning.

Also, I would use one of the calculation tools/sites, like this one and weigh the sugar long before I'd ever think about dropping tablets into bottles. From what I've read, it's one drop for a 12oz bottle, so 5 drops could see the brew heavily over carbonated on you.

Longer carbonation times can result from tired yeast, or more yeast has dropped out of suspension than you normally have. Either way, giving them more time is a pretty standard fix. Give the bottles two more weeks, then chill one down for 5-7 days before pouring to a glass.

Darker/higher ABV=longer carb time. I used a carb calculator for a 6.7% wheat porter, it has been bottled for 11 weeks, just now getting a head when poured aggressively, been stored @ 75 the whole time. Patience is a virtue, a virtue that sucks.

Darker/higher ABV=longer carb time. I used a carb calculator for a 6.7% wheat porter, it has been bottled for 11 weeks, just now getting a head when poured aggressively, been stored @ 75 the whole time. Patience is a virtue, a virtue that sucks.