Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Noob Question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2010, 06:16 PM   #1
Momo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Noob Question

So I am quite new to brewing. I am attempting to brew a pilsner, 5 gallon batch, approximately ½ extract and ½ grain. The recipe indicated to follow the pitching directions on the yeast packet and then ferment for two weeks at 50F. The yeast packet (Wyeast pilsner if memory serves) indicated to pitch the yeast wait until the air lock starts bubbling, then follow the recipe directions. So once it started bubbling and healthy fermentation started to take place, I moved it to the garage where it is about 50F. The fermentation immediately stopped, but I let it hang out for the two weeks. So I brought it inside last night with plans to rack to a secondary tonight. This morning it was bubbling away like it was in its first 12 hours. What gives? I thought that type of yeast was supposed to be in a cooler environment. Should I have let it finish bubbling then move to 50F for two weeks?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2010, 06:39 PM   #2
Suthrncomfrt1884
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 3

1st question...did you make a starter. Lagers require a LOT more yeast than one wyeast packet. 3-4 packets or a large starter is what should have been used.

Also, your wort should have been cooled down to about 50 degrees before you pitched the yeast. This will get your yeast used to those cold temps and then they'd do fine. Lagers also take a lot longer to get going and fully ferment. 1 month in primary is almost always necessary.

Second, do you have a way to keep that beer at 34-36 degrees to officially "lager" it?

Another HERMS rig...

Old 03-02-2010, 06:49 PM   #3
Momo
Recipes