Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > NOOB Here and simple beginer question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2010, 09:50 PM   #1
Robsbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default NOOB Here and simple beginer question

How do you make a yeast starter. Is it as simple as warming up water to about 90 degrees and throwing in the yeast for 10 min? Also what is a liquid yeast? Is it a yeast you buy? Also I have heard of people re-using yeast they brew with. What ae the advantages and how do you do it?
Is there also a chart on what yeast to use for what type of beer you are brewing? What brands are better than others? I know its a lot of questions but as I am diving into this whole craft beer thing the deeper the hook sinks in!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2010, 09:55 PM   #2
DeathBrewer
Maniacally Malty
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 203 Times on 113 Posts

Simple Starter: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/how-...ctorial-76101/

There are two stickied threads at the top of this section that talk about culturing yeast.

"Death is always with us." - Brewpastor

Quote:
DIAICYLF
We will remember...

Old 04-29-2010, 11:13 PM   #3
ReverseApacheMaster
Recipes 

Liked 228 Times on 191 Posts

OTOH, if you stare at DeathBrewer's avatar long enough the deer will implant the answers deep within your brain.

Old 04-29-2010, 11:18 PM   #4
DeathBrewer
Maniacally Malty
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 203 Times on 113 Posts

Hey! Don't give away the Evil Gerenuk's secrets! That knowledge is for the chosen!

"Death is always with us." - Brewpastor

Quote:
DIAICYLF
We will remember...

Old 04-29-2010, 11:33 PM   #5
Clonefarmer
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robsbrew View Post