The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > No Sign of Fermentation: two days post pitch

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2012, 05:13 PM   #1
brewmax25
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default No Sign of Fermentation: two days post pitch

I have been brewing for a couple of years now and have brewed many batches.

I always use Wyeast smack packs and most of the time I make starters, but for a long time, I never made them.

I just brewed a Kolsch on Friday and I didn't make a starter for this beer. It was a low gravity beer (1044) and I didn't have any DME to make a starter. I figured, I didn't make starters for many of my beers before this, so this shouldn't be a problem.

Now, two days later, I see no sign of fermentation at all. Nothing. I have never seen this before. I ferment in craboys so I can see what is happening and I see NOTHING.

I pitched at 64degrees and used Wyeast's Kolsch strain (2565). I smacked the pack hours before the pitch.

Did I get dead yeast? What should I do?

On Deck : Mexican Lager, Pilsner, Oktoberfest

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2012, 05:17 PM   #2
Reno_eNVy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 186 Times on 157 Posts
Likes Given: 58

You should wait, read the forum linked below, and RDWHAHB

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/ferm...e-signs-43635/

Your lag time could be any number of things. Ride it out. In a day or two take a gravity reading. If it's dropped then you're good.

Kegged: air and sadness =(

Bottled: English Barleywine (brewed 9/26/09 -- bottled 5/5/10)

LET'S GO LA!
LA CAMPEONES!
PLAY FOR GLORY, THE GLORY LA!

Old 04-01-2012, 05:18 PM   #3
BigRob
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Can take 48-72hrs to show signs, have you taken gravity readings?