Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Milk Stout Kit Fermentation problem

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2011, 12:24 PM   #1
shadows69
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Milk Stout Kit Fermentation problem

This is from a kit. I know i am still a newbie but this kit I did before my first all grain brew.
Anyway the problem I have is my starting OG was 1.055 and my FG should be between 1.020-1.024.
Mine is stuck at 1.030 I have tested on Sunday and Today still no change. I want to rack it to a secondary carboy.
Should I wait a couple more days or rack it?
It's been 10 days as of today.
Temp of the brew is between 63 - 64F as of now.
Will the FG come down some if I rack it to a secondary?
The kit instructions says to rack it to a secondary before it completes. Those kit instructions I know there not what they claim to be.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2011, 05:03 PM   #2
sprocketmaker
Recipes 

Sounds like the yeast is slowing down due to the lower temps. My recommendation is to keep it in the primary, and move it to a warmer location (68 - 72 degrees) you might even jostle it a bit to get some yeast back in suspension... but warming it should re-activate the yeast and finish off just fine in a week or two. As for secondary... its a stout, no need to secondary it, just leave it in primary and check the gravity ever 2 - 3 days till you reach your target FG and then bottle. Good luck!

Old 02-23-2011, 05:42 PM   #3
shadows69
Recipes 

Will do thanks for the input

Old 02-24-2011, 01:36 PM   #4
rykosnd
Recipes