Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Low floculation when reusing yeast.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2012, 04:20 PM   #1
bja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 100 Times on 78 Posts

Default Low floculation when reusing yeast.

I've been reusing yeast for about 6 months and this problem has gotten progressively worse. It's to the point where 4 weeks after pitching it's still cloudy, even cold crashing for a week won't drop the yeast out.

To make sure it wasn't an issue elsewhere, I used new yeast for the last brew and it is perfectly clear 7 days after pitching.

I know it just wouldn't be right to kill all the stupid people that we meet, but do you think it would be appropriate to just remove all of the warning labels and let nature take its course?

Life is tough. It's tougher if you're stupid.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2012, 04:26 PM   #2
paraordnance
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Yeah, I noticed that too. My flocculation problems get worse already on second or third generation of yeast. I'm not sure how breweries can still use the same yeast from 100 years ago.

Old 06-05-2012, 04:28 PM   #3
BBL_Brewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 425 Times on 295 Posts
Likes Given: 320

At what point are you harvesting the yeast (primary/secondary) and are you keeping all of it? Commercial breweries save the middle third of the yeast cake, I believe so that they are selecting yeast with the desired floculation. Unless you use conical though, that would be rather hard to do at home. My suggestion would be to reuse it until you start having problems and then start fresh again. Or, grow up a bunch of it from the start and freeze it so that you are always using first generation yeast.

Never Ending Liquid Yeast - How to Farm Yeast and Freeze it.

Old 06-05-2012, 04:30 PM   #4
BrewKnurd
Formerly discnjh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes