Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Latest Lager Redux - what I have learned.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2011, 06:10 PM   #11
TheMan
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 22 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 325 Times on 242 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I have no experience with final product after 02 aeration, but my last two brews (ales) I used my new O2 stone and they took off like rockets within hours. The blow off wouldn't stop for over a day. I've had vigorous fermentations before, but these two just seemed above normal.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2011, 06:38 PM   #12
osagedr
Recovering from Sobriety
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 96 Times on 80 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Quote:
Originally Posted by bernerbrau View Post
Osagedr, do you aerate your ales as well? What effect does that have on your final product?
I do aerate my ales. I've never done a split batch with and without aeration to assess impact on the finished beer. My belief based on what I have read is that getting the recommended PPM of O2 into my beer will create optimal conditions for yeast growth, and as a result a healthy fermentation.

I have read at least one thread on HBT where a brewer swore they tasted a big difference in their finished beer after they started aerating with O2.

2012 Canadian Brewer of the Year
2013 Canadian Brewer of the Year

@evilgoatbrewing

Old 10-19-2011, 07:08 PM   #13
bernerbrau
Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by osagedr View Post
I do aerate my ales. I've never done a split batch with and without aeration to assess impact on the finished beer. My belief based on what I have read is that getting the recommended PPM of O2 into my beer will create optimal conditions for yeast growth, and as a result a healthy fermentation.