Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Late fermentation every time

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2013, 05:16 PM   #1
ph0ngwh0ng
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 33

Default Late fermentation every time

Hi!

I'm fairly new to AG and brewing in general. I'm trying hard to setup a stable, constant system.

However, I'm finding that fermentation (krausen and/or bubbling) always takes more than 24 hours to start. While the beer turns out fine, with no contamination whatsoever, this is pretty nerve-wracking every time.

I cool the wort using an IC down to tap water temp (~68F) and I control fermentation temperature using a modified freezer, and tend to ferment ales on the cold side, but not too much (~65F). I make a 1.5-2L starter as per Wyeast instructions on their website, chill it to drop the yeast, decant it, let it warm up to room temp, then pitch it. I then shake the crap out of the carboy for 5 minutes.

I'm pretty clueless on that one..

alex b

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1ngl1ves View Post
I smoke, sit in traffic with my windows down, and eat bacon by the pound. Sometimes all at once. Food grade has become a myth to me...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2013, 05:23 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4481 Times on 3260 Posts
Likes Given: 870

A starter is always good! The thing is, some beers need a small 2L starter, while others might need a bigger starter to have the optimum amount of yeast.

There are two really good yeast pitching calculators out there- mrmalty.com (go to "yeast tools" and choose pitching calculator) or yeastcalc.com

Check it out, and see if your starters are actually the proper amount that you need for each batch. My guess is not.

Old 11-10-2013, 05:26 PM   #3
BigFloyd
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 626 Times on 548 Posts
Likes Given: 575