Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Weekend to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Lagering 101... what are the basics of using Lager yeast

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2010, 02:20 AM   #21
stevehaun
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Hey billc68:
I have an old friend named Joyce Larrabee that lives up on PEI. If ya know her, tell her hi from steve haun.
thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2010, 10:38 AM   #22
billc68
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

OK, so I started a German Pils on the 13th, using Wyeast 2278 Czech Pils (what I had on hand) This is my first time trying to Lager at proper temps. I smacked the yeast about 24 hours before pitching, I pitched the yeast at 74 degrees, let it sit 2 1/2 hours and then moved it to my fridge set at 57 degrees. The yeast pack was very swollen by the time it was pitched.

Now it is approximately 60 hours later, the air lock looks like it has some pressure in it, but not bubbling at least not while I watch it. I took a hydrometer reading and adjusted it according to temp, looks like it has changed by .002

Are lagers generally slow to start? Next time, I might try a starter. I should also add the Wyeast packs are designed for 5 US Gallons while we make our beer here in 6 US Gallon batches, so this will obviously add some start time to the brew.

Should I be concerned? add some dry Lager yeast which I happen to have on hand or just RDWHAB???

Old 05-16-2010, 12:54 PM   #23
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 3522 Times on 2176 Posts
Likes Given: 3013

Quote:
Originally Posted by billc68 View Post