The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Lactobacillus Starter for Berliner Weisse?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2010, 04:03 PM   #1
MikeBrenner
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Lactobacillus Starter for Berliner Weisse?

i'm working on a Berliner Weisse, and it seems everything i read is different. i got a Wyeast 5335 Lactobacillus Delbrueckii pack and made a starter. keeping it at 95 degrees on my stir plate with an electric fermentation heater. so my questions are... am i totally wrong to do this? and can i chill the lacobacillus starter to separate it like i would with a yeast starter? this is my first time using Lactobacillus and making a Berliner Weisse.

i think my plan is to split a ten gallon batch into two 5 gallon carboys and pitch one with a white labs german ale/kolsch yeast and the other with the Lactobacillus, and then mix before bottling.

thoughts?

thanks!
-mike brenner

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2010, 04:30 PM   #2
jessup
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

here's a thread that might help:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f127/doe...-right-165803/

sounds like you're doing everything well. i can't answer the question about cold crashing lacto, though. i'm not sure, but it sounds like that would work fine. i typically just pitch the whole starter, but that's me and i'm not as anal as a lot of people when it comes to certain procedures.

in the lambic & wild brewing section there are alot of threads about lacto. after searching for lacto cold crash i came up with this thread that loosely states lacto won't cold crash. or at least that's what i make of it: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f75/stra...blonde-132129/

"2009/7/29
Started cold crash from room temp (~72F). Used frozen PET water bottles and ~1LB ice blocks from tupperware to bring cooler temp down, swapping out when ice is depleted.

2009/07/30: