LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2014, 02:54 AM   #1
Joseph524
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Krausen

Hello
I am wondering about krausen with all grain BIAB. I have been doing extract for a couple years. Switched to BIAB this year. I read about a lot of people using blow off tube and such. Since I have been doing BIAB my beers have been better. But a lot less krausen maybe an inch but not much more. Less then the extract brews. Everything ferments to spec gravity wise. Big brew 8% or 5% all the same. Is this common?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2014, 05:16 PM   #2
RmikeVT
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 74 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph524 View Post
Hello
I am wondering about krausen with all grain BIAB. I have been doing extract for a couple years. Switched to BIAB this year. I read about a lot of people using blow off tube and such. Since I have been doing BIAB my beers have been better. But a lot less krausen maybe an inch but not much more. Less then the extract brews. Everything ferments to spec gravity wise. Big brew 8% or 5% all the same. Is this common?
I don't know the answer to your question. If your beer tastes good and attenuates appropriately for the type of beer you are making, I don't think it should be a concern.

Maybe the difference you are noticing is because the the wort make up of an all grain brew vs an extract brew. Anecdotaly, I think I get messier/bigger krausens when I get a lot of trub in the fermenter. So, maybe your brew in bag is filtering a lot of that trub out -- I don't know.

Old 06-25-2014, 05:20 PM   #3
ram5ey
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 27

Just make sure you are pitching a lot of good healthy yeast. Some beers I need a blow off, others not. I've never seen a correlation to any one variable.

Old 06-25-2014, 05:22 PM   #4
fuzzy2133
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes