Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > I have only used Safale-05 and Nottingham, should I switch?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2010, 02:35 AM   #1
StarCityBrewMaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default I have only used Safale-05 and Nottingham, should I switch?

I have been brewing for 8 months or so now and at one time I was brewing a batch every week or two so I probably have 20+ batches under my belt. I've had some really good batches and then I've experienced some that were not so fun to drink but I learned a lot from. All of my beers have been ales.

One thing that has always stayed consistent is the fact that I have only used Nottingham and Safale-05 yeast primarily because of it's simplicity. I just pour the cooled wort into a bucket and pitch.

What are the advantages of using other brands of liquid yeast? Anything else you all can share with me on this topic is appreciated!

Secondary 1: Air
Secondary 2: Air

Bottled: Edworts IPA, Nierra Sevada, Stork Blue Celebration Ale
On Deck: Maroon Effect Amber, Blonde, IPA, APA

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2010, 02:56 AM   #2
Elshauno
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Notty and Sa 05 are both good yeast strains. However there are whole lot of different strains to try, even different dry strains that put into the same wort will yield a different final product. Oftentimes though with liquid strains it advisable to make a starter. But starters are quite easy to make. a little dme some water in a sanitized mason jar with some foil. search for the mr malty pitching rate calculator which you should always use to make sure your not under pitching especially with high gravity ales. You might even want to build a do it yourself stirplate. Whatever you do good luck

Old 12-01-2010, 03:08 AM   #3
Skyforger
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2