The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > How long to leave IPA in primary?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2011, 09:02 PM   #1
LarsonLE
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default How long to leave IPA in primary?

Hello everyone! I am new to the hobby of home brewing, but I am extremely interested and can see this becoming a big part of my life.

I just brewed my first batch of beer (an IPA), and it has been exactly 6-7 days since my beer has been in my primary fermenting container. I've been reading some other threads regarding the length of time that is recommended when fermenting. About 48 hours ago, my beer stopped actively fermenting (there are no more bubbles). If I left my beer in there for another week, do you think it would be a good time to start bottling? Also, I haven't opened up the container to look inside, but I am kind of curious to see what is going on in there and to see what the current SG reading is, would it be fine to look inside or would I risk contaminating my beer?

Thanks,
Larson

Last edited by LarsonLE; 01-22-2011 at 09:23 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2011, 09:37 PM   #2
TipsyDragon
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts

well it is recommended to let your beer sit for 2-3 weeks before bottling. but if your in a hurry to taste your brew you can bottle as soon as the SG stops falling. of course opening the bucket will risk contamination. but if your good about the sanitation of anything you put in the beer you will be ok.

and just because the airlock isn't bubbling doesn't mean that it is done fermenting. the CO2 could be escaping from around the lid of the bucket which is common and nothing to worry about.

Old 01-22-2011, 09:55 PM   #3
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29