Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > How large of a flask should I get for a yeast starter?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2009, 07:01 PM   #1
Beavdowg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default How large of a flask should I get for a yeast starter?

I want to start making starters but I need to get the flask. How large of a flask should I get? Is 1L big enough or should I definitely get a 2L flask?
My beers are usually not too big, I'd say typically between 1.050 and 1.080.

thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2009, 07:03 PM   #2
Rick500
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I'd get at the very least a 2L flask.

I regularly make 2 liter starters for 6 gallon batches, using two half-gallon growlers.

Old 12-02-2009, 07:07 PM   #3
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 244 Times on 211 Posts
Likes Given: 392

i'd also recommend growlers for starters.

why spend money on a flask when you can get a 1/2 gallon glass container full of beer for a lot cheaper? granted, you can't boil in a growler....

otherwise, i'd go at least 2 liters. i bought a 1 liter and wish I bought a 3. but then my 1L broke and I haven't missed it since I started using growlers.

Old 12-02-2009, 07:19 PM   #4
FlyGuy

Recipes 

Liked 136 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 7

1L is too small. 2L is a good size for most beers. I end up using 1 gal jugs or growlers for high gravity beers, though. They aren't as convenient as the Pyrex Ehrlenmeyer flasks, though, as someone previously mentioned.

Old 12-02-2009, 07:22 PM   #5
Beavdowg
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 13