Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > House Yeast Strains?? Do you have any??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2012, 12:15 AM   #1
hbhudy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default House Yeast Strains?? Do you have any??

I have been brewing for a few years now and have jumped around to numerous yeast strains, but I wanted to spend the next year or so trying to play around with only a few strains for EVERYTHING.. :O I was thinking about US-05, WYeast Scottish Ale 1728, WYeast Saison 3711, Wyeast Ardennes 3522, and WYeast Weihenstephan 3068.. Granted these 5 yeast strains should give you a fairly large range of beers to produce, but I was just looking to see if anyone has gone through this idea of limiting the strains of yeast to try to see what else they came dream up for new brews..

Has anyone else done this?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:28 AM   #2
tinytowers
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I stick with S-04 and S-05. $2.25 a pack and very consistent results.

Old 12-04-2012, 12:54 AM   #3
metic
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 24

I've been using the following four Wyeast strains: 1056, 1318 (London Ale III), 1469 (West Yorkshire), 3522 (Ardennes). I have slants of them all, but they're also all excellent top-croppers, so if I plan my brews carefully I only have to grow up yeast every few months. This also means I usually have yeast around to trade with other brewers too, so I get to try out new strains occasionally as well.

Last edited by metic; 12-04-2012 at 12:55 AM. Reason: Typo

Old 12-04-2012, 01:01 AM   #4
Dr. Francois
Dry Yeast FTW
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytowers View Post
I stick with S-04 and S-05. $2.25 a pack and very consistent results.
+1