New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Flocculation and bottle conditiong question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2013, 04:39 PM   #1
ScrewedBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Flocculation and bottle conditiong question

The short story here.... I started brewing extract beers in 2001-2004 and didn't know much about what I was doing. I just pitched whatever dried yeast the HBS had because it was cheap. I always had trouble with under-carbed beer.

I just started brewing again using Wyeast 3068 (German Weissbier), and learned to rinse my yeast for the next batch. So now I've been trying to learn and understand the behavior of yeast. This yeast is low flocculation, and bottle conditioning carbonation was excellent!

Is there a correlation between flocc levels and suspended yeast left after ferment to where it affects carbonation? For example if a high flocculation yeast was used, less suspended yeast for bottling making an under carbed beer?

Next question is on cold-crashing effect on yeast and then bottling. I have been fermenting my Weissbier at 65 degrees. About 2-3 days after it stops bubbling and the yeast flocculates, I move it out to my garage and cold condition at 50-55 degrees for 7-10 days. Then I move it back into the house 65-68 degrees for a couple days before bottling. Did this defeat the purpose of cold crashing? Or is it better to rack / bottle cold when it is 50 degrees? Will there be enough yeast if bottled cold to make sufficient carbonation?

Thanks for the help!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2013, 04:57 PM   #2
Demus
Recipes 

Liked 116 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 6