*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > First time with Safale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2012, 10:29 PM   #21
doublehaul
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by hector View Post
They were Extract-batches . I always kept the Beer in the Primary for 3 Weeks and then primed and bottled . But , all of them ended up with a very sour and undrinkable Beer . At first , I was suspicious of infection . Although , I had sanitized everything very carefully . Sometimes even so extremely as if I was a Surgeon in an Operation room .

As I explained my brew day in details , some HBT members told me that it couldn't be any infection . Eventually , a member told me the trick .

If only she had told me that much earlier .

Anyway , I brewed a small test batch and let it sit in the Primary for 1 Week and transferred it into the Secondary and let it sit there for 2 Weeks .

At the end , it was the first drinkable Beer I've ever made .

Hector
that is interesting, I wonder what is up with that. I was planning on not touching for 2 weeks but maybe i'll transfer to secondary when I dry hop.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 12:32 PM   #22
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4505 Times on 3276 Posts
Likes Given: 883

Quote:
Originally Posted by doublehaul View Post
that is interesting, I wonder what is up with that. I was planning on not touching for 2 weeks but maybe i'll transfer to secondary when I dry hop.
There's no need to transfer. That yeast strain is good quality and I use it often. I dryhop many batches right in the fermenter and it works out fine. The key with most yeast strains is to simply stay within the optimum fermentation temperature range.

Old 07-10-2012, 12:37 PM   #23
Skipper74
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote: