*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > First Time Brewing Fermentation Stopped

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2013, 03:26 AM   #1
CardenVonDraken
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default First Time Brewing Fermentation Stopped

I'm just getting into home brewing, so I thought I'd try something simple for my first attempt: 1 gallon spiced hard cider. I added 1tsp of yeast to the 1 gallon mixture. The airlock started bubbling pretty soon after. I put it in my minifridge (thinking I had gotten it warm enough). I checked back later and it had stopped bubbling. I took it out of the minifridge (realising my mistake that I got it too cold) and gave the liquid a good swish. After a minute or two it started bubbling again. But now it has stopped and only gives me one or two bubbles if I swish it again.
It's one gallon in a 5 gallon carboy, if that makes any difference in how much the airlock will bubble.
I'm just paranoid that I ruined it.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2013, 10:52 AM   #2
tonybaloni
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by CardenVonDraken View Post
I'm just getting into home brewing, so I thought I'd try something simple for my first attempt: 1 gallon spiced hard cider. I added 1tsp of yeast to the 1 gallon mixture. The airlock started bubbling pretty soon after. I put it in my minifridge (thinking I had gotten it warm enough). I checked back later and it had stopped bubbling. I took it out of the minifridge (realising my mistake that I got it too cold) and gave the liquid a good swish. After a minute or two it started bubbling again. But now it has stopped and only gives me one or two bubbles if I swish it again.
It's one gallon in a 5 gallon carboy, if that makes any difference in how much the airlock will bubble.
I'm just paranoid that I ruined it.