LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2012, 01:02 PM   #1
BrewMasta
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default First Batch Q & A

Hello, I'm new to home brewing beer, but I pay incredible attention to detail as I strive to make even my first batch a smashing success. With that said here is my question. I'm currently brewing my first kit from Northern Brewer, Caribou Slobber Brown Ale, which came with my Deluxe beer making set up. I'm getting ready to rack my batch to the second carboy for aging, etc. I'm concerned number one about even going to the secondary due to risk of oxidation, and secondly I'm concerned about the yeast/foam floaty on the top of the beer. Do I simply dip the auto siphon below that nasty floaty and try to leave it behind in the first carboy, also there seems to be some controversy regarding wether I should even risk oxidation of the beer by racking it to the second carboy. I welcome any thoughts and advice. Thank you, BrewMasta

" life is like a case of beer, you must enjoy it every day"

- ToastedBlonde Ale in Bottles
- Zesty Pale Ale in primary #1
- Belma 60 IPA in primary #2
- Belgian Wheat IPA in primary #3
- White IPA on deck
- ESB on deck

* Member of the Maniacal Association of Shoreline Home-brewers, CT

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 01:12 PM   #2
libeerty
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 101 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 42

You do not need to secondary, but if you are careful, you won't have anything to worry about if you decide to. Just coil the hose at bottom of secondary. But up to you. No benefit to secondary for that recipe, unless you need the primary for another brew?

Tried to keep up with this signature, but just couldn't.

Pappers_ Likes This 
Old 12-29-2012, 02:51 PM   #3
LAbrewer
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1