Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Weekend to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Fermentation Johnsons A419 Heating Question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2011, 04:00 AM   #1
deadguyry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Fermentation Johnsons A419 Heating Question

So I purchased a Johnsons a419ABG-3C Im trying to use it to heat my freezer up to 82 degrees to ferment my belgian strong ale. I knowhow to set it to heat with the jumpers my question is does it take along time to heat up? Im new to this machine and am Just wondering my freezer shows that is on its just stuck at 72 degrees and is not climbing up. How long does it normally take for these things to heat up any help on the subject will be appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2011, 04:10 AM   #2
jafo28
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 100

What are you using for a heat source? I have a ceramic reptile bulb in a desk lamp, and in the dead of winter it has no problem heating my chest freezer.

Old 10-29-2011, 04:13 AM   #3
deadguyry
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I was not aware i needed a heat source i thought the point was that it would over ride the freezer and cause it to start heating up.

Old 10-29-2011, 04:19 AM   #4
runningweird
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 85 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 47

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadguyry View Post
I was not aware i needed a heat source i thought the point was that it would over ride the freezer and cause it to start heating up.
a freezer does not produce heat (other than as a byproduct of cooling). instead the controller will turn off the freezer - and if the outside ambient temp is below where you want your fermentation temp to be you are screwed.