Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Dry Yeast FAQ

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2014, 03:18 PM   #21
cheddarhed3
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 107

From info gathered from different sources, the SAFALE US-05 strain (all I've used so far in two batches) actually is said to be more effective sprinkled dry and not rehydrated. Obviously I have little experience to draw from but the Wheat Beer that came with my Starter Kit turned out pretty good. Have a Chinook IPA that's still in primary but the verdict is still out. My plan was to brew the same Chinook IPA with liquid yeast and compare. Great thread here though as it gives us noobs some good advice. I know I personally tend to err on the side of caution since I'm simply trying to get the process down and comfortable with the times/temps needed to brew a successful batch. Cheers.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2014, 07:50 PM   #22
g-star
Recipes 

Liked 72 Times on 56 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddarhed3 View Post
From info gathered from different sources, the SAFALE US-05 strain (all I've used so far in two batches) actually is said to be more effective sprinkled dry and not rehydrated.
What are your sources? Anecdotal forum/LHBS chatter, or scientific studies?

Old 01-25-2014, 08:02 PM   #23
boydster
Don't act like you're not impressed.
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 706 Times on 489 Posts
Likes Given: 547

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddarhed3 View Post