Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Do you know how to make a yeast starter? Then why not farm yeast and freeze it?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2012, 06:26 PM   #111
BBL_Brewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 419 Times on 292 Posts
Likes Given: 309

Quote:
Originally Posted by IsItBeerYet View Post
Love the thread.

I've been farming for a little over two years. I'm glad to see some guys that know what they are doing generating some metrics on this. I've spent some time changing my variables around like you guys (slurry%, glycerin%, temps) and also have to mention a variable that I have encountered as well. As much as I hate to admit it, some yeast just don't freeze well. I've had issues with several strains, but on the other had have strains that I am still using from an initial freeze 2 years ago. Go figure.

Do love the thread, though. Just be prepared guys. Every other week or so, I get somebody from the brew club asking if I have some Wyeast/Whitelabs <<insert random strain here>>. But on the plus side, I haven't paid for yeast (with the exception of adding to the Zoo) in almost 18 months!
Glad you liked it. There's so much varied info out there on the subject that I thought I'd try to pin down a good all around standard method with some solid data to back it up. As soon as I get the funds, I think I'm going to spring for some plates, stains, a microscope and a hemocytometer. I'm such a data junkie. Plus I have a pretty good spread of older and newer yeast with varied glyercerine percentages now so it will be very interesting to start counting and staining some cells.

So what strains are you having trouble with? That would be good information to keep in mind. Also, what is your current method just out of curiosity and or what method have you had the best results with?

Never Ending Liquid Yeast - How to Farm Yeast and Freeze it.