Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Did I munson my yeast starter?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2012, 04:10 AM   #1
laserghost
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default Did I munson my yeast starter?

Hmm ... this is my first attempt at a starter, using one vile of WLP001 (best by 8/4/12). I've read several different instructions on how to do it, and with differing suggestions regarding concentration of DME to use. I think I pitched to a slightly weak wort (intentionally), but am unsure of the exact gravity because I diluted down a smidge from 1.040 just before pitching. I did this based on the recommendations of making a weaker starter on the White Labs site to "activate" the yeast. I added it to 800 mL in a 1 quart jar. Sanitation was pretty good all around, I think.

I pitched it 2 hours ago, and have been swirling it pretty regularly. Based on How to Brew's instructions, it is sitting in the same environment that fermentation will occur at, which is in a water bath and relatively cool temps ~63.

Nothing noticeable is occurring yet, though I realize this is supposed to take about 24 hours, and maybe longer since I have it at a slightly cooler temp.

But here's my main concern ... I wonder if I thermally shocked the yeast by warming it too quickly. I took it out of the fridge and set it on the counter, for a few minutes, then moved it to a warm area, about 85–90 degrees. I pitched it probably within 45 minutes of taking it out of the fridge, to a wort that was chilled to 69.

Do you think I derfed my yeast by warming it too quickly? What else have I done wrong?

Reason: new info

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 04:42 AM   #2
pelipen
Recipes 

Liked 58 Times on 42 Posts