Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Diagnosing an inexplicable problem

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2012, 06:56 PM   #11
cheezydemon3
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1578 Times on 1193 Posts
Likes Given: 2839

Actually, AG wort can be boiled down to nearly any concentration.

Boil down a normal 5 gallon batch to 2 gallons and it will be pretty damned strong.

"Thanks but when should I put employees in? This is my first time trying to add a flavor like this to a beer so I'm kinda clueless...."

-EMPLOYEE FLAVORED BEER........

(my new hero....) pbohanna

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 07:05 PM   #12
kanzimonson
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsv1204 View Post
I have heard of folks using a wine yeast to finish big beers. No personal experience with it, though. I would personally not keg a barley wine mostly because I don't want to tie up my keg for months (or years). I bottled a barley wine in July and it is only now starting to be drinkable. Some of it will be around next year this time. Just a thought. And it took a long time for the bottles to show any sign of carbonation...
I don't know much about wine yeast, but I wonder about the fact that although they have high alcohol tolerance, do they have the capability to ferment the higher chain sugars that are left at the end of fermentation? I mean, there's not much of those sugars in grape juice. But I don't know.

And in reality, I'll carbonate in keg and then beer gun 'em into bottles after some bulk aging.

Old 12-04-2012, 07:08 PM   #13
kanzimonson
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezydemon3 View Post
Actually, AG wort can be boiled down to nearly any concentration.

Boil down a normal 5 gallon batch to 2 gallons and it will be pretty damned strong.