New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > contamination risk

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2012, 02:03 AM   #1
RxLizard
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default contamination risk

I am fairly new at homebrewing. I used my glass carboy with an airlock as my primary fermenter for my IPA. I already know my mistake and that next time I should use my bucket as primary and use a blowoff tube. That being said, here is my problem and question:

The fermentation was so violent it actually popped the top off of the airlock. This happened while I was at work today and I wasn't around to take care of it right away. I lost a fair amount of beer and ruined the carpet in my closet. I do not know how long the top was off and the beer was exposed to room air. I have since sanitized the airlock and put it back on the bung.

What should I do? Should I assume that it is contaminated and give up on the batch? I don't want to waste several weeks while trying to brew a beer that will be end up being ruined. On the other hand, I also don't want to waste the $50 dollars I spent on the supplies just to have to start over and spend it again. Is there any chance it will be okay?

What would you do?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-19-2012, 02:13 AM   #2
day_trippr
Recipes 

Liked 811 Times on 673 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by RxLizard View Post
[...]What would you do?
Let it ride, and it will most likely be just fine...

Cheers!

Old 05-19-2012, 02:45 AM   #3
dankbeer
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by day_trippr View Post
Let it ride, and it will most likely be just fine...

Cheers!
This. Don't worry and wait a few weeks.

Old 05-19-2012, 03:02 AM   #4
aubiecat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 122 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 39