Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Careful visiting Fermentis.com website - malware warnings




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2010, 07:35 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 1,341
Liked 46 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default Careful visiting Fermentis.com website - malware warnings

I was doing some research on yeasts this morning and kept getting some warnings about the fermentis.com (Safale) website. Google is showing that some of their pages are loading malware from Russian websites.

http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http://www.fermentis.com/fo/60-Beer/60-11_product_rangeHB.asp&hl=en


JonW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 01:44 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 584
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I just ran across that as well. I was hoping to find some flavor profiles of their yeasts. Anyhow, thanks for the warning! Hopefully they're up and running soon.


__________________
Primary: Hefeweizen, Scottish 60-/, Lemon Wheat, Imperial IPA, Apfelwein
Secondary: Sweet Mead, Dry Mead, Oaked Dry Mead
Bottled: Sunbreak Amber, Irish Coffee Stout, Bavarian Weizen, Bigfoot Barleywine Clone, Imperial Saison, EKG Lite, Dry Mead, Spiced Apfelwein
Kegged: Strawberry Blonde, Ballard Bitter Clone, Southern Cross IPA, Smoked Habenero Porter, My oh Maibock, Maris Otter Mild, Apfelwein x2
drummerguysteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 02:53 AM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: OH
Posts: 1,547
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

It's been like that for a while. I wonder what the deal is? Does anyone know what's going on, exactly? I'd like to check their info sheets periodically, but I hesitate due to this warning.
__________________
Don't worry, be hoppy.
GuldTuborg is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 08:30 AM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Iceland
Posts: 41
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

You can go to their french website, that one does not have a warning attached to it.
http://www.fermentis.fr/FO/60-Beer/60-11_product_rangeHB.asp

It's in English and allows you to view all the info sheets.
sigurdur is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 02:36 PM   #5
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 552
Liked 27 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 67

Default

They have an infection!!
stubbornman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 02:59 PM   #6
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Commerce, GA
Posts: 563
Liked 14 Times on 11 Posts

Default

Some of the javascript code they use is stored on a Russian server that was also hosting malware. There's nothing wrong with Fermentis' site. They just chose a poor place to either host or reference some code.
hal2814 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 03:16 PM   #7
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 48 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

You can also find some of them here http://www.williamsbrewing.com/SAFALE_S04_DRY_ALE_YEAST_P720C64.cfm
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 04:42 PM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 1,341
Liked 46 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hal2814 View Post
Some of the javascript code they use is stored on a Russian server that was also hosting malware. There's nothing wrong with Fermentis' site. They just chose a poor place to either host or reference some code.
According to the Google crawler, they were serving up malware.

From the Google diagnostic page:
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 3 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 3 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-07-25, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-07-25.
Malicious software is hosted on 5 domain(s), including postfolkovs.ru/, webservicebal.ru/, webserivcezub.ru/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS35012 (PICTIME).
JonW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 05:16 PM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Commerce, GA
Posts: 563
Liked 14 Times on 11 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonW View Post
According to the Google crawler, they were serving up malware.

From the Google diagnostic page:
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 3 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 3 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-07-25, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-07-25.
Malicious software is hosted on 5 domain(s), including postfolkovs.ru/, webservicebal.ru/, webserivcezub.ru/.
This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS35012 (PICTIME).
No, according to Google's site, those .ru servers were serving up malware. fermentis.com was not. Read the rest of the diagnostic page:

Quote:
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, www.fermentis.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
(emphasis mine)
hal2814 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2010, 05:23 PM   #10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 1,341
Liked 46 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

I read it all. I think you are misinterpreting what they are saying.

Just as you said in your first post on the subject, Fermentis is linking to external javascript - and that is where the linking to the malware is taking place. The malware is not ON their site, but because they are using external code (that was likely compromised), their web pages (not site) ends up serving up the malware. Just because the malware is not sitting on their server doesn't mean they're not serving it up. They were not simply implicated because some other site had malware on the same server - they were actively serving it up.

Here's the key point from the Google report:
resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent


JonW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fermentis s-33 vs wlp060 stillstoked Fermentation & Yeast 3 07-08-2010 04:49 PM
Careful with Safale 05 smarek82 Fermentation & Yeast 18 05-10-2010 03:54 PM
Fermentis Yeast - Good info jamesjensen1068 Fermentation & Yeast 1 01-26-2010 08:25 PM
Fermentis Web Site Msbeer Fermentation & Yeast 0 11-18-2009 02:13 PM
be careful when ordering yeast culturing eq. from cynmar hexmonkey Fermentation & Yeast 8 09-10-2009 02:25 AM



FOLLOW US ON