Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Can I inoculate yeast slants from trub from the primary?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2010, 08:48 PM   #1
GroosBrewz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default Can I inoculate yeast slants from trub from the primary?

Hey all,

I am new to yeast ranching with only one batch under my belt, a set of London ale yeast slants that I took from a smack pack last week (the lids blew off during the week-lesson learned)..

Anyway, I am wondering if it is possible to culture yeast slants from the trub from the primary. I am racking today and have a nice 1056 yeast cake, but I don't plan on using the yeast anytime soon. I am wondering if I can inoculate slants from the trub for more long term storage. Any contamination concerns? Or should I only inoculate slants from a smackpack or vial? Thanks!

Tap 1- JubelAle Clone
Tap 2- Evening Bite Pale Ale
Tap 3- Twilight Clone
Tap 4- Dicks Danger Ale Clone

"Today I felt like burning some calories....So I found a fat kid and set him on fire"

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2010, 06:44 PM   #2
Justibone
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 69

What like this guy does? Or did you have something else in mind?

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f163/yea...strated-41768/

Old 11-29-2010, 12:10 AM   #3
GroosBrewz
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justibone View Post
What like this guy does? Or did you have something else in mind?

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f163/yea...strated-41768/
No, not like that. He's just saving the entire cake for repitching. I am referring to agar filled test tube slants that I can grow yeast on perpetually to build up a yeast library.

Tap 1- JubelAle Clone
Tap 2- Evening Bite Pale Ale
Tap 3- Twilight Clone
Tap 4- Dicks Danger Ale Clone