Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Brewer's Yeast as nutrition for starter?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2009, 03:00 PM   #1
justflow1983
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Brewer's Yeast as nutrition for starter?

In reading over the section on yeast nutrition in How to Brew I came across Palmer's recommendation that one add nutrients to the starter wort. Its my first time using a liquid yeast and I didn't pick any nutrients up (LHBS is a 2 hr drive) but in his list of nutrients he lists yeast hulls as one of the standard types of nutrients:

How to Brew - By John Palmer - Nutrients

I was wondering if brewer's yeast from the health food shop (dead Saccharomyces cerevisiae) would be basically the same thing? I was considering getting some since theres a health shop on the street that I work on, and throwing it in with the wort boil to make sure its sanitized and dead.

I'm a noob, this is brew #4, so all opinions welcome...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-26-2009, 03:03 PM   #2
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2774 Times on 1659 Posts
Likes Given: 3486

Yes, berwer's yeast added to the boil is the same as "yeast hulls"

You can really do it with any yeast, even old bread yeast, or those unlabled metallic packets of yeast under some extract cans...even just any beer yeast dropped into the boil. I have a jar of bread machine that was improperly stored improperly stored and mostly dead. I use that in the boil as a nutrient all the time.

Like my snazzy new avatar? Get Sons of Zymurgy swag, here, and brew with the best.

Revvy's one of the cool reverends. He has a Harley and a t-shirt that says on the back "If you can read this, the bitch was Raptured. - Madman