Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Beginners adventures problems with yeast

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2011, 02:09 AM   #1
KaiserWilly
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Beginners adventures problems with yeast

Hey everyone,

I looked through this forums but I didn't see any similar question as mine get answered. I am very new to brewing (this is my 2nd try). I have a one gallon kit from for now, so I when I bought the Brewer's Best kit of a milk stout I just subdivided the ingredients out.

I was pretty precise with measuring, except I totally brain farted what I was measuring about. Instead of dividing the ingredients into 1/5, I divided into 1/4. The OG of my wort (without topoff, which added about 8% volume) water was 1.095. Also, I followed the directions on my yeast packet which said to pour the yeast in water and heat it in micro wave, and I over-heated it to about 105. After reading some other posts that's a double no-no I guess.

Its only been an hour, but I haven't seen any fermentation. The yeast was labeled Nottingham Ale Yeast e11 if that helps at all.

I see the most common response to this type of question are just wait and see, but if it fails to ferment what should I do?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2011, 02:27 AM   #2
Newbeerguy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Well you are right, one hour is too early to tell anything, but I'd say if there is no activity after 48 hours I'd repitch another pack of yeast. To be perfectly honest I've used Nottingham yeast a bunch an never seen on their packet to heat in a microwave....

Give it some time and report back with updates

Old 11-27-2011, 02:27 AM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2750 Times on 1649 Posts
Likes Given: 3485