The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Begian Wit quick fermentation

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2011, 01:03 AM   #1
Meshuggah
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Begian Wit quick fermentation

I brewed a Belgian wit from AHS five days ago and today it appears it has reached terminal gravity. The recipe calls for slightly more top off water to push the volume to slightly over 5 gallons but I figured my efficiency wasn't all too great as I'm pretty new to all grain, so I didn't top off. The yeast I used was WLP400. My original gravity was 1.052 with the recipe calling for 1.050. Now, my final gravity is 1.010 after 5 days with the recipe calling for 1.008. I feel like this is right but want some clarification.
I gave it a swirl after checking the FG, but it seems done. I don't plan on a secondary, so is there any need to leave it in primary longer? Or should I just bottle as soon as everything has settled from the swirl? Thanks!

Oh, and I forgot to mention, I may have mashed just slightly high (153-157 over the course of an hour), if that has any significance in this situation

Last edited by Meshuggah; 05-24-2011 at 02:19 AM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2011, 01:05 AM   #2
petep1980
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 1

+1 for not topping off.

I did a brief secondary. Wit's are cloudy and young.

Old 05-25-2011, 03:21 AM   #3
cyclonite
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

+1 more for not topping off

I always go 2 weeks minimum in primary, for every beer. Give the yeast a little time to clean up any mess they've made. Though it does sound like your fermentation is done, I would still let it sit for the full 2 weeks (just IMHO though).