Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Anyone try BRY-97 yet

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2012, 06:08 PM   #131
DPBISME
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 56 Posts
Likes Given: 76

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobBailey View Post
Never seen or heard of it. Where did you find it?

I'm ready to try Nottingham again after steering clear of it before they started repackaging. I do like US-05, but without cold crashing it takes a long time to compact. Maybe this new Danstar yeast is the ticket.

Bob
I have been using Nottingham for 10 years and never have had a problem.

I normall do not rehydrate.

I brew mostly in teh Spring or Fall when the Temps are around 70 F and I cast the yeast right on top of my arriated wort at about 80 F and let it cool down.

Usually it is bubbling away after 12 hours.

Example:
  • Cool wort to around 80 F. (Usually in the evening to ambent temp is in the 60s)
  • Wort cools and yeast goes to work.
  • By the time the temp is around 70 F, mid-day, it is going... and a day or so later the significant fermentation is complete.

Temp on top of the fermenter are usually 70-72 F and I do not check the internal temp.

I do 5 and 10 gallon batches this way and have great luck with the yeast.

I also keep a little around in case something has not started the way I expected,,, and cast it at 24 hours if there is no activity...

DPB

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2012, 08:33 PM   #132
winvarin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 52 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 2