Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Anyone Ever Tried Engineering Yeast Strains?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2010, 07:14 PM   #1
TheWhaleShark
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Anyone Ever Tried Engineering Yeast Strains?

Hey all, this is my first post in these forums. I'm pretty new to brewing (have my second batch ever in the primary right now), but I've learned a lot pretty quickly.

To get right to the point, I have a unique (well, presumably so) strain of yeast that I have acquired. This is the strain that I have used to brew so far, and I intend to keep it that way.

However, I've had a thought. I'm planning on harvesting and reusing yeast (as opposed to making a starter from a slant every single time), and I was wondering if anyone had ever kept a persistent strain of yeast.

My thought is that each "major" type of beer that I brew could have its own specially adapted yeast cake associated with it. I could brew, say, my RIS, harvest and save the yeast cake, and use THAT yeast cake again when I brew the RIS. Repeat this process and I'll be placing some artificial selection pressure on the yeast, forcing them to adapt to the specific conditions of that beer.

Has anyone tried anything like this before?

tl;dr: I want to reuse the same yeast cake for a particular recipe, over and over again, until that yeast is perfectly adapted to that beer. Thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2010, 07:17 PM   #2
GilaMinumBeer
In yo' garage, steelin' yo parts.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 4630 Times on 4312 Posts
Likes Given: 57

Isn't that what yeast labs do?

And, over generations (sometimes a few, sometimes many) yeast can degrade itself.

Old 01-15-2010, 08:18 PM   #3
kanzimonson
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts