Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Another General Yeast Cake Question!!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2009, 09:44 PM   #1
HalfPint
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Another General Yeast Cake Question!!

Sorry in advance if this has already been answered, but I'm too lazy to look through countless threads.

I want to pour a chilled wort right on top of the yeast cake in my primary after I rack that one to the keg. I've never done this before and my concern is sanitizing.

Do I clean (sanitize) the bucket at all or do I just dump my wort in?

Thanks a lot,
J

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2009, 10:04 PM   #2
Hammy71
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 427 Times on 327 Posts
Likes Given: 660

As long as you racked off the previous beer recently, just dump the wort in the bucket.

Old 10-12-2009, 10:08 PM   #3
bierbrauer
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I would recommend cleaning the primary and the yeast before reusing in the next batch. The junk left in the primary from the previous batch can give off flavours to the next beer. A technique I have used with success is as follows. rack the beer off the yeast and trub in the primary, then get yourself a litre of cold distilled water. Sanitize a smaller (1gallon) jug or something around that size and dump the yeast, trub and cold water in together with a funnel. Make sure everything is Sanitized. let this container chill in the fridge for about an hour and most of the junk will settle to the bottom. This is a similar process used when washing yeast for storage. After it has settled a while decant the yeast either into a smaller container (sanitized) before pitching or directly into the next beer.