Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > 3 stuck fermentations in a row

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2012, 03:23 PM   #1
Madkins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 3 stuck fermentations in a row

I've been brewing all grain for about 4 years. I've used White Labs and Wye Yeast with great results. Recently I moved states and away from my brewing buddies and purchased my own equipment. I'm using the Boilermaker system with a bayou banjo burner. I've done 3 brews, each time I hit my OG targets, and each time the yeast has failed to ferment below 1.029. The first was an ESB, 100% Maris Otter with Wye Yeast London ESB yeast. Mashed at 151 for 60 min, boiled 60 min and hit OG at 1.048. 5 gallon batch aerated with pure o2 and pitched 2 smack packs at 70 degrees. Fermented at 68 for 7 days. Gravity reading was 1.030. I roused the yeast raised the temp and no change. 2 smack packs could not ferment 5 gallons below 1.030.

Next brew was a porter. British pale base malt same yeast mashed at 152 OG of 1.052. 10 gallons. 1 smack pack per 5 Gallon car boy. Fermented at 68 and gradually increased the temperature to 76 for 10 days. Couldn't get below 1.029 after adding nutrients and rousing the yeast.