Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Why You Brew

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2007, 06:46 AM   #1
San Jose State University
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Why You Brew

I'm a beginner to say the least, but I have a high interest and I feel I'm learning quickly.

However, I have one important question: How does the beer that you homebrew compare to the premium commercial beers available?

To be clear, I want to know what you really think, from a 3rd person perspective, how good the beer is. What's "good"? Purely opinion. If you bought your own homebrew in a supermarket, how would you compare it to other premium brews?

I want to know this because I want to know what to exect from my brew once I gain more experience, skill, and intuition. Of course not everybody is the same, but I'd hope that I could eventually make beer that tastes better than premium commercial beers according to MY tastes.

I want to imagine a beer flavor and brew something that's mighty close to it.

That's my goal... I just want to know how practical it is.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2007, 06:48 AM   #2
Cheesefood
Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 22 Posts

This topic comes around every now and then. My first response was that I wanted to follow in the footsteps of my bootlegging grandma. Now, I do it because I want to make David Hasselhoff cry.

Past Winners: Caramel Cream Ale #1, Hoegaarden Clone, Boom-Boom Vanilla Ale, Lazy Monk Abbey Style, Amarillo Cream Ale. (AG),

Buy a shirt now!!! Please! Did I help you? Buya shirt!
Cool Shirts.

Old 04-04-2007, 01:10 PM   #3
Glibbidy

Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I do it to support my habit, and because I brew excellent beer that is as good if not better then most commercial breweries.

Old 04-04-2007, 01:18 PM   #4
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4942 Times on 3579 Posts