Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Who here is a sloppy home brewer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2012, 10:55 AM   #11
TNGabe
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2189 Times on 1483 Posts
Likes Given: 2170

Quote:
Originally Posted by lgilmore
I don't know if I would call it sloppy. Making beer is more cooking than baking. With cooking you can vary the items a bit and actually improve a receipe. With baking, you have to be more percise. I am an excellent cook and a so so baker.
I've got to disagree 100% on this one. I can throw a beer together or I can throw together some dough and get in the ball park, but if I want to have consistent results, measurements must be made.

Why spend 5 minutes reading when you can just start another thread?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 01:57 PM   #12
Homercidal
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 2350 Times on 1668 Posts
Likes Given: 1318

I have been before. I try and do things the right way. I used to be more "sloppy" due to brewing without being totally prepared. i made more less than great batches that way, so I spend more time making sure everything is in place and I have a list to check off now.

Though to be honest, I have made some decent beers by winging it. It's just not as much fun as having everything prepared and thought out. Actual brewing time is cut down drastically when you are prepared too.

Old 11-30-2012, 02:17 PM   #13
bobbrews
Recipes 

Liked 285 Times on 243 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNGabe View Post
I've got to disagree 100% on this one. I can throw a beer together or I can throw together some dough and get in the ball park, but if I want to have consistent results, measurements must be made.
I'll 50% disagree with that concept.