Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > What would you do? ...Disappearing Beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2011, 03:35 AM   #1
Germelli1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default What would you do? ...Disappearing Beer

Before I go into this, I want to give some background. I live in a house in my college town. It is divided between our section, the ground floor and my attic bedroom, and a separate basement apartment. I have two roomates in our section of the house, and we all get along great. Our landlord is our age (early-mid twenties), lives in the basement apartment and is awesome.

I am on campus from the early morning until the late evening on weekdays so I am not around often during the day.

Now for the issue:

So I bottled a batch of high gravity Wee Heavy on Sunday. I have been aging this beer for almost 2 months. I left the newly filled bottles in the living room (shared space that the roomates were OK with me leaving the bottles there for a few weeks) to carbonate since my attic bedroom swing in temperature and is not a very good environment to store the bottles.

The landlord has had a HVAC crew here installing a new furnace and duct work, so they were all over the house the last few days.

So tonight I get home and notice that 7 of my big bottles were missing from the milk-crate they were stored in. The bottles ranged from 22 oz to 1 Liter in size. I talked to my roomates and they hadn't moved them or done anything with the bottles.

So this leads me to believe the HVAC workers took the liberty of nabbing some of my large, de-labled bottles filled with uncarbonated Wee Heavy meant to be aged until Christmas.