Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > What level are you?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2009, 03:50 AM   #11
jpb5151
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvinfan1 View Post
So I was doing an inventory of equipment in my garage and noticed how I've advanced my craft over the past two years. It got me thinking....what qualifies someone as a novice brewer, an intermediate brewer, and an advanced brewer? Is it all-grain brewing? Constructing your own brewing sculpture? Going from bottling to kegging?

I doubt there's a right answer...but what do you think makes someone a beginner, intermediate, or advanced brewer?
My thoughts, as a complete novice.

A beginner is someone like me, who can follow brew instructions but doesn't know everything about the mechanics (chemistry and microbiology) behind what's being done.

An intermediate person understands all of the instructions and why they're followed, including pitfalls and solutions.

An advanced brewer is someone who can take brewing to an additional level, just by understanding the theory and mechanics behind brewing and adapting to their own desires. An advanced brewer would be capable of creating a new brew, not found in recipies and perhaps not conceived of by anyone else.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2009, 04:02 AM   #12
smalltown2001
Recipes