Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Using Oxygen to Aerate Wort

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2009, 09:27 PM   #1
agroff383
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default Using Oxygen to Aerate Wort

Hey guys I am going to make my first batch soon. next Saturday, and I have seen setups like this:
Oxygenation System with Filter

Or since I am a novice should I just shake the bucket? I just want to enhance my opportunity to do it right the first time! Is it worth the $35 bucks? My dad has oxygen so I wouldn't need to buy that.

Thanks for the help. I am SO excited to do this, everyone in my life is sick of hearing about it now I am sure!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2009, 09:31 PM   #2
ChshreCat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 461 Times on 367 Posts
Likes Given: 17

I just splash it as much as possible when I transfer from kettle to bucket, and then give it a good violent stir for a few minutes and my yeasties take right off. It's actually possible to overdo it with O2 and make things worse, from what I've read.

Another thing I do is to use gallon jugs of spring water for my top up water. So you can pour in about 1/3 of the jug, then recap it and shake the living crap out of it. So, the top-up water is pre-aerated.

"Science + beer = good!"
-Adam Savage

Old 03-19-2009, 09:31 PM   #3
zanemoseley
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I just dump it back and forth between two buckets about 10 times. I wouldn't say its wasted money but I think its money that could be better spent on other brew items when you start out.

Old 03-19-2009, 09:59 PM   #4
STB
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts