Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > unfiltered beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2009, 03:08 AM   #1
xbabyboy4021x
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default unfiltered beer

when a bottle of beer says its "unfiltered" does that mean that it still contains the yeast and should be poured into a glass leaving yeast sediment behind like a homebrew? im drinking an empyrean ale brand "Darkside Vanilla Porter" and it says its unfiltered and i also bought a beer called Easy Street Wheat which i just noticed it is also unfiltered but in the wheat i can see the yeast sediment at the bottom and on the bottle it says to pour 2/3 of the beer then swirl the last 1/3 to suspend the yeast sediment then pour that too, im new to brewing and trying different kinds of beer but ive never heard of pourposely pouring the yeast sediment into the beer.

oh and also, on the side of the vanilla porter it says "OG: 14.1" im assuming this is 1.141, am i right?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2009, 03:29 AM   #2
albannach
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Yeast sediment won't hurt you; I think it has some vitamins in it. I've never heard of purposely drinking the sediment myself, but you should try it with the sediment and without, see which tastes better to you I guess. I usually leave the sediment behind in my homebrews.

Old 01-19-2009, 03:45 AM   #3
AZ_IPA
PKU
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 6327 Times on 5483 Posts
Likes Given: 849

Quote:
Originally Posted by xbabyboy4021x View Post

oh and also, on the side of the vanilla porter it says "OG: 14.1" im assuming this is 1.141, am i right?
probably 14.1 Brix which is about 1.054

Old 01-19-2009, 03:47 AM   #4
jonp9576
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1