Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Thinking of Moving to Oregon for beer. Looking for Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2009, 03:53 PM   #1
ohill1981
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Thinking of Moving to Oregon for beer. Looking for Advice

We'll i have been kicking around the idea of getting out of Alabama and moving out west and attempting to get a job at one of the many breweries out there. I was considering checkin out the portland area, only because i have a couple of friends out there and it would make it a little easier to move around a few folks i know. I am far from a beer expert and have only been home brewing for 5 months, but this new hobby as turned me on and i want to see what it looks like on a larger scale. So i figured if i could get a job at one of the breweries it would be a good start if not a mandatory task i would have to do to gain a better understanding of what it would take to possibly open my own brewery someday or at least make a living making beer for another brewery.

I was curious if any of you kind folks on this message board had any tips/advice on this crazy idea i have such as:

What breweries in Oregon would be nice to work at?
What kind of pay do the lower totem poll workers get?
What kind of hours would i expect to be working?
Is doing this full time possible?
Just anything that would give me some more info on what to expect/look for when i go out there at the end of July to scout out the place...

I figure nothing in life happens without you getting off you're ass to do it so sitting around talking about is only numbing my cheeks. So any advice at all would be great!!!!!

On Deck: Undecided
Fermenting: Noche Buena....
Fermenting:
Secondary..... (Dog Fish Head 60min Clone)
Conditioning: .Akka Lakka Pale Ale ....
Drinking....... Anything!.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message