New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Switch to 3 vessel from biab?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2011, 03:55 AM   #1
kshuler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Switch to 3 vessel from biab?

HI everyone-

I have been brewing for about almost 2 years now, and when I switched to all grain, I started with BIAB with an intent to upgrade to a full 3 vessel system when I got the space and time and money.

I have been toying with the idea of upgrading. I have a modified clone of Kal's electric brewery that I have set up as a single vessel eBiab rig with a RIMS tube. It would be very easy to hook it back up for 3 vessel use.

The benefits of BIAB are posted in many posts. So far, the only complaints I have with BIAB are a follows:
1) The wort is not clear before the boil.
2) I have some difficulty lifting the bag without getting hot wort all over the place.
3) I find it a bit of a pain to squeeze the bag to improve efficiency.
4) My hopstopper clogs sometimes, and I think that may have something to do with the cloudy wort having more hot break to clog the hopstopper

I have been, overall, pretty satisfied with the products I have made, and attribute most of the minor issues to problems with the brewer, not the equipment.

So my question is... is there an advantage to going 3 vessel while I have the chance (or rather when I have the chance, which SHOULD be soon)? There must be a reason that people who have 3 vessel system don't switch to BIAB from their systems. I have 2 march pumps, and would only have to buy 2 vessels. I suspect my efficiency would go up a few points, but I already get about 81% consistently, so it won't lead to huge savings in grain.

Will I gain anything by going to a 3 vessel setup?

You can't reason someone out of a position they didn't reason themselves into.

-------------------------------------------