Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Stuck Fermentation...Repitch?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2009, 03:38 PM   #1
JohnnyD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Stuck Fermentation...Repitch?

Hey Guys,

I'm new to HomeBrewTalk but not to homebrewing.

A little back story:
I purchased Northern Brewer's Bourbon Barrel Porter Kit, brewed it, fermented in primary, and then transferred to secondary with the bourbon and oak chips.

Unfortunately, in a complete absentminded lapse of judgment I didn't check the gravity until after I had added the bourbon and oak chips, assuming it would be fine - I've never had a stuck fermentation before.

It wasn't. Now I've got a beer that had SG: 1.064 is stuck at 1.030 and should be down around FG:1.016.

Looking back I know why the fermentation got stuck (temperature shock) but I'm a little wary about repitching (Wyeast Scottish Ale 1728).

How do you guys think the yeast would react with the bourbon and oak? Is it worth repitching or should I just learn to live with it.

Thanks,
John

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2009, 03:54 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 139 Times on 132 Posts

The bourbon & oak won't bother the yeast. I'd just pitch some Nottingham or S-04.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 01-14-2009, 03:57 PM   #3
Evan!

Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 1