Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > stuck fermentation?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2007, 02:02 PM   #1
lrk97420
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default stuck fermentation?

I have been brewing for several years and came accross an issue today I have no experience with. I made a dead guy clone and used wyeast european ale yeast (with a starter that took off). I see little or no bubbling from fermenter after nearly 30 hours. I moved it to a slightly warmer location to see if I could get it going, but the airlock moves a bit, but no good action. Is that typical with this yeast? I do notice when I use certain yeasts they will start slow then ferment for longer. Others will take off in a few hours and finish fast.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2007, 02:42 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4950 Times on 3586 Posts
Likes Given: 1002

Just a thought- maybe give the carboy a gentle swirl/shake to rouse the yeast?

From Wyeasts web site:
1338 European Ale Yeast. From Wissenschaftliche in Munich. Full-bodied complex strain finishing very malty with full bodied profile, very desirable in English Style Brown Ales and Porters. Produces a dense, rocky head during fermentation. Flocculation - high; apparent attenuation 67-71%. (62-72° F, 16-22° C)

Since the flocculation is high, maybe that would help. Are you using a carboy or a bucket? Do you see a "dense, rocky head"? It's also possible that it's about done, too, especially since you used a starter that took off.

Lorena

Find me on facebook: Lorena Evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans

Old 01-09-2007, 03:11 PM   #3
Evan!

Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 1