Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Soliciting opinions on this porter recipe

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2012, 07:46 PM   #1
Tim_Kreitz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Soliciting opinions on this porter recipe

Yeah, yeah, I know it's the middle of summer and I live in West Texas. I realize I should be brewing nothing but beers like APAs and IPAs right now. Well I don't care; I needs me a nice keg of porter, so I've designed the following recipe. This is a new formula I've never used before. It seems like it should be great (on paper, anyway), I'd just enjoy any ideas or feedback you all might be willing to offer.

Modded recipe in post 12.

On Draft: Amarillo Brillo Honey Blonde Ale
On Draft: Cherry Christmas Session Ale

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2012, 08:34 PM   #2
WesleyS
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2738 Times on 1788 Posts
Likes Given: 359

IMO there's no wrong time to brew a porter. I brewed a porter on the 4th and its hot here in east Texas as well. I don't really brew according to season too much, I just brew what I like when I want it. As far as the recipe if it was me I'd reduce the black patent and up the chocolate malt. And also throw in some wheat or oats and possibly use a blend of two different crystal malts. But that's just me and my tastes.

Long story short, Beer.

Old 07-08-2012, 08:53 PM   #3
Tim_Kreitz
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by WesleyS View Post
IMO there's no wrong time to brew a porter. I brewed a porter on the 4th and its hot here in east Texas as well.
I can dig it. Plus, you guys have a whole different kind of heat over there in the forrest of the pine than we deal with out here in the badlands.

Quote: