The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > "So and so" is a beer connoisseur

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 04:20 PM   #11
Apatride
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I like "amateur":
An amateur (French amateur "lover of", from Old French and ultimately from Latin amatorem nom. amator, "lover")
Being a native French speaker, I see this term as being motivated by love (of beer, of course).
It is also kind of bullet proof against any attempt to see me as a snob even when I refuse a Bud.

Old 12-03-2012, 04:39 PM   #12
Rev2010
Recipes 

Liked 68 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 157

Hmm, I used to consider myself a beer connoisseur before I started brewing, I don't see anything wrong with it. Of course we'll always get our fair share of hipsters that think that since they've had a few Chimay's they're connoisseurs but there no shame in using the word for the people that it does fit. Myself, I've had many different hundreds of beers, but I also knew a lot of info about those beers, and other beers within the brand's line.

If someone truly loves beer and makes an effort to try a lot of different beers to gain experience and also learn about them then I see nothing wrong with using the title. I would rather a self proclaimed beer connoisseur try my beer than Joe neighbor who's only feedback will be "thank you!".

Rev.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 04:44 PM   #13
osagedr
Recovering from Sobriety
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 96 Times on 80 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Quote:
Originally Posted by atonk View Post
i'm probably just getting old and crotchety, but i have to know if the rest of you out there experience this.

I have a friend who just started seeing someone, and she says "i told him you're a homebrewer - he's a beer connoisseur and wants to try your beer."

(repeat over and over in a variety of settings and situations)