HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Simplicity; or, What America Has Done to Beer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2010, 12:55 PM   #31
z987k
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 1

The only thing I have against session beers is they are usually priced the same as their stronger brethren... until you get really stronger.

$4 for a Bitter or $4 for a melt you face IIPA or a massive RIS. Um.... not that I don't like bitter, but.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2010, 01:09 PM   #32
mojotele
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Why can't we do both?

If you don't like one or the other, don't drink it.

Old 02-05-2010, 01:19 PM   #33
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Recipes 

Liked 197 Times on 176 Posts
Likes Given: 362

Quote:
Originally Posted by z987k View Post
The only thing I have against session beers is they are usually priced the same as their stronger brethren... until you get really stronger.

$4 for a Bitter or $4 for a melt you face IIPA or a massive RIS. Um.... not that I don't like bitter, but.
I agree with that.

if you're gonna charge me $12 for a 4-pack of barleywine/strong ale, don't charge me $8 for a 6-er of 4% bitter

Old 02-05-2010, 04:29 PM   #34
dogbar
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by motobrewer View Post
I agree with that.

if you're gonna charge me $12 for a 4-pack of barleywine/strong ale, don't charge me $8 for a 6-er of 4% bitter
Someone with some actual knowledge could probably chime in here, but I'd bet the profit margins on the small beers are what keep the prices more reasonable on the big ones.

Old 02-05-2010, 04:42 PM   #35
Synovia
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hal2814 View Post